SPACE TEACHERS WORKSHOPS & TRAINING EVENTS CLASSES COMMUNITY STUDIOS YOGA
Yogi of the Month
Teacher of the Month
SPACE Family 
Newsletter
Join SPACE
SPACE WELLNESS
Schedules  SPACE An-Ho  SPACE Tien-Mu  SiteMap  Home



Yogi of August - Hannah Chen
As a student, I wanted to find a physical activity that would keep me in shape and at the same time I was looking for ‘something’ that would make me more quiet. I am easily anxious. Like many people, I am not good at handling stress. I was living in Tienmu at that time, in 2003. Not far from my place, there was a ‘yoga studio’. I was not sure what that was, ‘yoga’. On the other hand, I knew that it is important to do some exercises everyday. It is important to avoid putting on weight, to make our internal organs such as heart, lungs and the digestive system work properly, and to be able to sleep well at night, at the very least. So I went to that studio.

For a while, I had a good time, and I actually learned a lot, but the practice was too repetitive. The teachers were always selecting the same poses. I left. For about two years, I practiced at home what I had learned. It was good, but I didn’t know many poses, especially strengthening poses. My body is very flexible, but not that strong. I need to strengthen it again and again. Thus thinking, one day I found out about another yoga studio. I found some good teachers and my strength rapidly improved. My arms became strong enough to perform most of the once-out-of-reach arm balancing poses. In Steeve’s class, I even successfully performed headstand and handstand. My legs also became stronger and in only a few months I managed to perform with ease the new and challenging standing poses.

One year and a half later, when teacher Steeve left that studio to teach at Space Yoga, I followed him. Space Yoga is a real sanctuary of peace and well-being in the heart of Taipei. I feel as comfortable at Space as in my own house. There are many people and it is not possible to know everyone, but the staff, including the teachers, is always friendly, warm-hearted. The teachers really know a lot of poses and even though I have been practicing for almost ten years they can still surprise me with new poses and moves. They also explain more than in the other studios. I think it is essential to learn how to practice well and to avoid any injuries.

I also prefer to practice 75 or 90-minute classes. I think that to practice yoga only for one hour is not enough. The teacher, in that case, has to remove the relaxation or the meditation from the practice. For me who practices yoga not only to stay in shape but also to relax my mind, such a removal is sheer non-sense. It would be like playing football without a ball. While practicing at first to stay fit, I discovered that at the end of a session, I felt more peaceful, as if refreshed, ready to start working again or to perform any kind of task.

When I am not working or practicing yoga, I enjoy to walk or cycle in nature. I also like reading, especially novels. I try to live in the present moment and not in the future like many young people or in the past like many older people. The past is finished and cannot be changed. So why trying to live there? It is as if living in a house where the doors and windows cannot be opened. What a life! The future does not yet exist and since we can die at any moment we are not at all sure to see its colours. So why trying to live there? It is as if trying to live in a house that is not yet built. Not sure that you will stay dry when it rains! It seems that the best option is to live in the present. To live in the present, I accept every moment as it is and as if it was the very last. By being welcome and by being the very last, each moment becomes beautiful.

Namaste

Each month we will honor a SPACE student for his or her passion and dedication to the practice of Yoga. May their stories serve as inspiration to us all!
Asana of the Month
We will focus on a different Asana every month and delve deep into and explore all its inherent possibilities!

© SPACE Concepts All Rights Reserved.

SPACE YOGA Taipei : your sanctuary, your studio, your SPACE.

SPACE 簡介 SPACE 師資 研習課程&師資培訓 館內活動訊息 瑜珈課程 瑜珈社群 教室簡介 有關瑜珈
本月瑜珈之星
本月瑜珈指導師
我們的SPACE
SPACE刊物
加入SPACE
SPACE WELLNESS
瑜珈課程表  SPACE 安和館  SPACE 天母館    網站地圖   回首頁  Premier Boutique Taipei Yoga Studio



2012年八月瑜珈之星
Hannah Chen
身為一個學習者,我希望能到找到一種活動,既能保持體態,同時也能使心靈平靜的方式。我很容易焦慮,如同大多數的人一樣,我也不擅長處理壓力。2003年我住在天母,離我家的不遠處有間瑜珈教室,那時我還不知「瑜珈」為何物,不過那時我已經知道了每天運動的重要性。至少可以幫助我減少體重的增加,也讓心臟、肺、消化系統等內在器官正常運作,晚上得以安眠。所以我還是到那間瑜珈教室上課。

我在那間瑜珈教室過了一段不錯的歲月,也學習到許多。但那些練習有太高的重複性,老師總是讓我們練習差不多的動作,所以最後我離開了。接著我開始在家練習那些我所學到的動作,自己練習是一件很棒的事,但我知道的動作真的太少了,特別是那些需要肌耐力的動作。我的身體很柔軟,但並不強壯,我需要不斷的鍛鍊肌耐力才可以。於是,某天我發現了另一家瑜珈教室,裡頭有很多好老師,使我的肌耐力進步的很快。現在,我的手臂已可以做到那些之前完全做不到的手平衡動作了。在Steeve老師的課程中,我甚至可以做到手倒立及頭立式,短短幾個月內,我的腿更強壯了,可以做到一些之前沒做過,更具挑戰性的站姿動作,令我感到非常開心。

一年半之後,Steeve老師離開了那間教室,來到SPACE YOGA教課,所以我就跟隨著他的腳步來到了SPACE。我發現這裡真的是台北市中心的一個平靜心靈的聖殿,在SPACE練習的感覺就像在家一樣自在。雖不可能認識每一位練習的同學,但工作人員及老師都非常友善、心地溫暖。老師們對於瑜珈動作的認識真的很深入,即使我已經練習瑜珈將近十年,他們在課堂上還是能給予我新的練習動作,實在讓我感到驚喜。同時,SPACE的老師也比其它瑜珈教室的老師能給予在動作上更多的解釋。我想,這對於更優質的練習來說是很重要的,同時也能避免在練習的時候受傷。

我喜歡75或90分鐘的課程,我覺得一個小時的課程長度有點不足。一小時的課程裡,老師往往不會在課程中帶領放鬆或冥想。但對我來說瑜珈練習不僅是維持身形,同時也可以幫助我放鬆心靈。因此,沒有放鬆或冥想的練習就失去了意義,就像是在踢一場沒有球的足球比賽。當練習滿足了我對維持身材的需求後,我發現在課程結束前的放鬆與冥想更是個寶藏。讓我感到更平靜,像獲得新生般,讓我可以重新面對工作上任何繁瑣事務的挑戰。

當我不工作,也不練瑜珈時,我喜歡在大自然中走走或騎單車。我也喜歡閱讀,特別是小說。我試著活在當下,而不是像很多年輕人寄望活在未來,或是像老年人般地活在過去。過去,就已經過去了,並無法改變什麼。若不能活在當下,就像住在一間門窗打不開的房子裡,這是什麼樣的人生?我們每一刻都有可能面對死亡,甚至連死亡是什麼顏色都不知道。在這樣的情況下,如果我們不活在當下,那麼所謂的未來並不真實存在的。這就像住在一棟還沒有蓋好的房子裡,下雨時,你連是否得以遮風避雨都無從確定。因此,活在當下吧!活在當下,如是地接受每一刻,誠心誠意的迎接每分光陰,把每個當下都當做最後一刻來活著。那麼,每一刻的生命,都將更璀璨光彩!

Namaste

每個月我們將從SPACE的學員當中選出一位對自己瑜珈的練習有非常熱愛並且投入的朋友,和我們分享他她的瑜珈故事。希望藉由他們的分享能鼓勵更多瑜珈愛好者對他們的瑜珈練習更持之以恆。
本月姿勢
每個月我們將挑選一個姿勢,仔細和大家一起探索這個姿勢的各種可能。

© SPACE Concept All Rights Reserved.

最精緻的瑜珈教室,最專業的瑜珈課程,就在 SPACE YOGA