SPACE TEACHERS WORKSHOPS & TRAINING EVENTS CLASSES COMMUNITY STUDIOS YOGA
Yogi of the Month
Teacher of the Month
SPACE Family 
Newsletter
Join SPACE
SPACE WELLNESS
Schedules  SPACE An-Ho  SPACE Tien-Mu  SiteMap  Home
Yogi of February – Stephanie Hsu

After being in the work field for many years; I have gone from a young adult full of ambition and ideals to a soon to be thirty something. As my career developed I discovered material comforts and a high living standard, but at the end of the day I still felt empty inside. I questioned everything, not knowing what the purpose of my life was. After living in a cold and apathetic city like Taipei for many years, I gradually built thick walls around my heart. lost my inspiration to experience life.

At the same time, my body started to develop strange symptoms from the increasing pressure and accumulated stress of my daily life. During the day I felt like a soulless body in an office, burning myself out for the sake of achieving company goals. After work I became a drifting soul, lost at the crossroads of life, not knowing where to go.

Over a year ago, by chance, I discovered a fitness center in my neighborhood that offered various yoga classes. With great excitement and anticipation I went in to enroll. My God! Tai Chi Yoga, Power Yoga, Restorative Yoga, Reiki Yoga, Ayurveda Yoga…how could I choose from all these courses? The sales staff was a bit up tight and insisted that there was absolutely no way for non-members to have a trail class.

Half out of curiosity and half from feeling pressured I enrolled as a member. That very night I signed up for a course that fit into my schedule after work. I remember how shocked I was when I saw the shabby classroom overcrowded with students. The actual Yoga practice was only 40 minutes. My tense body needed more. Practicing yoga half heartedly, I started to feel that many yoga studios were like academic institutions where the teachers talk continuously using fancy words that did not touch me.Maybe I was not able to open my heart, but I felt that the talks were pretentious and disturbing, and after awhile, I gradually forgot about practicing yoga.

The idea of Hot yoga became very appealing when I pondered how my cold body could survive through the winter. (Hot yoga is practiced in a room heated to between 36-40°C to help the body detoxify, increases flexibility and stamina.) SPACE was the perfect place for me, perfect in location and perfect in timing. SPACE is located just midway between my work and my home, and the evening HOT YOGA course fit my 9-6 schedule perfectly. Most importantly, each and every one of the well trained teachers are so very patient and passionate in their teaching. (special thanks to Wawa, Sharon and Vicky) Through the guidance of the teachers, gradually my tight shoulders relaxed and softened. I was able to listen to my breath and a sense of calm spread through my body. I began to let go and empty my mind. As soon as I started to sweat, the dark thoughts that had accumulated in my mind seemed to be swept away. The 90minute session brought me to experience something new to me. I felt an exceptional sense of well being in mind and spirit.

Yoga practice is not meant to be measured by how precisely the asanas are performed. It is rather an affirmation of the strength of the inner self. There is no need to compare; one needs only focus on the present moment. I used to find it so difficult to let go of the day. However after practicing the various postures and breathing techniques my body and mind opened up and my awareness expanded.

I am so grateful to the creators of SPACE, for providing us with such a peaceful sanctuary in the midst of all of the chaos of the city. In our busy modern world, it is a great blessing to have the opportunity to experience yoga. Through this practice we are reminded to open our minds, and to find more compassion and love for those in need around the world. Yoga teaches us to focus on the present moment while letting the spirit of yoga guide us at all times in our daily life.

Namaste

Stephanie
Each month we will honor a SPACE student for his or her passion and dedication to the practice of Yoga. May their stories serve as inspiration to us all!
Asana of the Month
We will focus on a different Asana every month and delve deep into and explore all its inherent possibilities!

© SPACE Concepts All Rights Reserved.

SPACE YOGA Taipei : your sanctuary, your studio, your SPACE.

SPACE 簡介 SPACE 師資 研習課程&師資培訓 館內活動訊息 瑜珈課程 瑜珈社群 教室簡介 有關瑜珈
本月瑜珈之星
本月瑜珈指導師
我們的SPACE
SPACE刊物
加入SPACE
SPACE WELLNESS
瑜珈課程表  SPACE 安和館  SPACE 天母館    網站地圖   回首頁  Premier Boutique Taipei Yoga Studio
2008年二月份瑜珈之星 – 徐雅莉 Stephanie Hsu


踏入職場多年,從早期滿懷理想奮鬥的青年,轉眼間即將步入三十而立的中年。雖然隨著職位與薪水的上升而帶來物質生活的豐盛,但每到夜深人靜時心中總有股空虛感,不知自己存在的價值何在;在冷漠的台北市工作與生活,久而久之也讓我築起一道高牆,封閉的內心失去對生活中喜怒哀樂的能力;同時身體隨著壓力的增加而出現非常反常的生理反應。白天的我在辦公室是一個沒有靈魂的軀體,為著公司的業績目標在燃燒自己的生命;下了班的我是一個飄流的靈魂,迷失在人生道路的十字街頭不知何去何從。

一年多前不經意發現住家附近有家運動中心教授瑜珈課程,滿懷興奮與期待的心前去報名。天阿!太極瑜珈、活力瑜珈、舒壓瑜珈、經絡瑜珈、養生瑜珈…….這麼多不同名稱的瑜珈課程要怎麼選?當時的櫃臺人員姿態又非常高,堅持非學員不得旁觀課程,除非先付費,如果試上一堂課後不滿意可再換課程。就在半壓迫半好奇的心態下,當晚憑運氣挑了一門符合自己下班時間與殘存體能的課程,就這樣開啟我的瑜珈練習。

記得第一堂看到簡陋的教室裡擠滿學生時有點受寵若驚,在接下來的一個小時課程中,扣除剛開始的暖身以及最後大休息的時間,實際練習瑜珈只有40分鐘,原本緊繃的身體剛要伸展開來卻又急急忙忙縮回一半,感覺意猶未盡。就這樣隨著一期8堂課下來,對瑜珈練習的感覺不痛不癢,甚至覺得很多瑜珈館就像學院,老師ㄧ張嘴嘰哩咕嚕的講些意境優美的話語,但或許頻率不對,或自己的心無法沉澱下來,總覺得聽起來就像是一番冠冕堂皇的話,很噁心,也讓人覺得很做作。隨著時間的飛逝,心中也逐漸淡忘瑜珈練習這件事。

原本怕冷體質的我正計畫如何度過這寒冬時,腦中突然一股靈光乍現~~HOT YOGA (熱瑜珈是刻意在36-40°C的高溫中練習並享受汗流浹背的暢快感!同時熱瑜珈能幫助身體排毒、增加身體柔軟度和肌耐力)。透過網路搜尋,真是天時地利人和,首先SPACE YOGA的地理位址就介於上班與住家的路途中間,而且晚上的HOT YOGA課程時段安排符合我這朝九晚六的上班族,最重要的是每位功力深厚的老師們都是如此耐心與熱情教導(感謝Wa Wa 、Sharon W與 Vicky等老師)。抱著初生之犢不畏懼的憨膽,我就直接報名三天的體驗課,連續上了將近6堂的HOT課程,透過老師的引導,開啟自己與身體之間的對話,慢慢紓緩高聳緊繃的肩膀、靜心聆聽自己的呼吸聲、放空滿腦分歧的想法、專注自己的身體器官,隨著滿身汗水的揮發,堆積內心深處的灰色想法似乎一掃而空,完整九十分鐘的課程讓我心靈體驗到前所未有的舒暢感。

在SPACE YOGA可以感受到老師與學員之間真誠的互動,一種正面能量的交流。瑜珈練習不是以體位法的精準來斷定功力的高下,而是那股對自我內心力量的肯定,不需在意與比較,只需專注在當下。當時的我覺得這是多大的困難與挑戰,如何不去想今天發生的事?如何不去想接下來要做?然而藉由各種姿勢、動作及呼吸獲致身心暢快的境界與知覺領域的擴展,讓我體驗到瑜珈練習的最終目的是『啟蒙』,因為本身含有很多伸展動作與靜思要領。

真的很感謝SPACE創辦人能在如此急功近利與競爭激烈的台灣,給我們這麼好的一個空間,也因為每位高素質老師的帶領下,讓學員總是在練習後能充滿能量,分散愛與關懷給週遭的人。很多人不是不努力而是沒有機會停下來好好思索下一步路;在這忙碌的工商社會裏,有機會接觸瑜珈的人真的是一件福分,而這個福分將帶領我們分享更多愛與關懷給世上需要的人。肯定自己的表現、專注當下、把握現在,讓瑜珈精神隨時存在我們的生活中。

Namaste

Stephanie
每個月我們將從SPACE的學員當中選出一位對自己瑜珈的練習有非常熱愛並且投入的朋友,和我們分享他她的瑜珈故事。希望藉由他們的分享能鼓勵更多瑜珈愛好者對他們的瑜珈練習更持之以恆。
本月姿勢
每個月我們將挑選一個姿勢,仔細和大家一起探索這個姿勢的各種可能。

© SPACE Concepts All Rights Reserved.

最精緻的瑜珈教室,最專業的瑜珈課程,就在 SPACE YOGA