SPACE TEACHERS WORKSHOPS & TRAINING EVENTS CLASSES COMMUNITY STUDIOS YOGA
Yogi of the Month
Teacher of the Month
SPACE Family 
Newsletter
Join SPACE
SPACE WELLNESS
Schedules  SPACE An-Ho  SPACE Tien-Mu  SiteMap  Home
Yogi of October – Terri Chen

Let life guide you by listening to your own heart?~ From Saraswathi
I am a white-collar worker who works from "five" to "nine" in this crazy paced city. Before seven am, among early rising students, young people who just got out of pubs, cleaning people who already started working, I am on my way to Space to begin my day on the mat.

I started yoga from a yoga club in my sister's company. I strived to workout out for 60 minutes with trembling muscles and hard breathing, my legs shook so much to the edge of jerking on my way out. After I joined Space, I had a chance to experience all kinds of yoga. When I first did Ashtanga, besides the non-sense mantra, the teacher repeated words that didn't make sense to me: Ujjayi Bandha, Drishti, Viniyasa, etc,. Among the endless strings of movements that never pause, with sweat all over my face, when I sipped water or wiped the face with a towel, the teacher would stop me. As I attended more classes, I managed to keep up with the pace. When the teacher encouraged us to deepen our own practices by practicing mysore at 7am, my first response was: no way.

Ashtanga makes it clear: do your practice and everything follows. For a person who is not flexible, not smart, not brave like me, the stupid and only way to achieve many difficult poses is by numerous practices. I fell (truly embarrassing stuffs you wouldn't want to know) and I felt defeated, but I found no other way besides returning to mat and practice. I did not force myself to get up early to practice until 2006 Auguest. Russell and Sally joined Space two weeks later. I was really happy to meet them. They have a tremendous influence on my yoga practice. Though Russell might seem very strict in teaching, he has a very understanding heart. He always knows the fine line between "can't" or "wouldn't". Under the gentle guidance of Sally, students always find their own confidence and the magic power of yoga. They serve as a model and get up early to practice daily. Gradually I get up early to practice daily too (except for badminton Sundays). I've been doing this for over a year. I know this is the practice I want and I enjoy doing it.

From the age of 15 years old, I've been plagued by psoriasis. Besides soothing remedies, there is nothing to cure it. The best remedy is no pressure in life and live a healthy life. I have a busy attitude and am a perfectionist. It is difficult to live without pressure. Yoga helps me to understand that the body is a naturally balanced system with precision. However, many people are too busy to observe what the body really needs. The body reacts with an overwhelming illness when the body cannot take it anymore. Yoga practices with body and mind. Body and mind achieve their natural balances. I am happy that as my body gets healthier my mind becomes healthier too.

I thank Joanna for inspiring my passion for yoga, Sally for teaching me teaching me the funs of upside-downs, Russell for introducing me the deadly attraction of backbends. Together with careful instructions from Axl and Gladys, the morning practices are rich and fun. I know how tired the body is after practice yet the teachers must get up early enough to finish their own practice before helping students with adjustments on the risk of getting kicked or hit. I thank all the teachers and every staff in Space.
I would like to dedicate this article to mysore friends, because I know how difficult to get up from warm beds in the mornings.

Keep practicing both on and off the mat through each doubt, fear, and skepticism, hopefully another me come.

Namaste!
Each month we will honor a SPACE student for his or her passion and dedication to the practice of Yoga. May their stories serve as inspiration to us all!
Asana of the Month
We will focus on a different Asana every month and delve deep into and explore all its inherent possibilities!

© SPACE Concepts All Rights Reserved.

SPACE YOGA Taipei : your sanctuary, your studio, your SPACE.

SPACE 簡介 SPACE 師資 研習課程&師資培訓 館內活動訊息 瑜珈課程 瑜珈社群 教室簡介 有關瑜珈
本月瑜珈之星
本月瑜珈指導師
我們的SPACE
SPACE刊物
加入SPACE
SPACE WELLNESS
瑜珈課程表  SPACE 安和館  SPACE 天母館    網站地圖   回首頁  Premier Boutique Taipei Yoga Studio
2007年十月份瑜珈之星 – Terri 陳馨甯


Let life guide you by listening to your own heart. ?~ From Saraswathi
傾聽內在的聲音,在生活中引領你。

我目前是在這個混亂步調城市中朝"五"晚"九的上班族,清晨六點忠孝東路上,早起的學生,狂歡完的年輕人,已開始工作的清潔員,而我正往 Space 的路上,趕著七點前在瑜珈墊上展開我的一天。

因緣際會之下,第一次接觸瑜珈是參加姐姐公司的瑜珈社團。在肌肉抖動和氣喘噓噓中勉強撐過 60 分鐘,離開時腿發抖的快抽筋。來到 Space 後,我有機會體驗各種瑜珈。還記得第一次上 Ashtanga,除了不知所云的梵唱,老師還重複一堆聽不懂的詞 Ujjayi, Bandha, Driste, Vinyasa 等等。幾乎沒有停下的連串動作,揮汗如雨之際想偷偷擦汗或喝水,還會被老師制止。隨著上課次數的增加,漸漸的可以跟上節奏。當老師在課堂上鼓勵大家可以透過早上七點的mysore,加深自己的練習。我的第一個直覺是:絕對不可能!

Ashtanga 清楚闡明:練習,一切便隨之而來。對骨頭不算軟,領悟力不算高,膽子也不算大的我,最笨和唯一的方法,就是靠著不斷的練習,才能達到多數困難的體位法。我摔過也跌過 (真的很糗,你不會想知道的蠢事~~),曾經我也覺得很挫折。但是除了再回到墊子一次又一次的練習外,沒有其他方法。直到2006年的八月底,我開始強迫自己早起練習,Russell 和 Sally 兩周後也來到 Space 教學。我很高興遇到他們,他們對我的瑜珈練習有無法言喻的影響。Russell 看似嚴厲"魔鬼"的教學下,其實有顆非常體諒的心,他總是知道"不想"與"不能"的微妙界線。Sally 溫柔的指引下,總能讓學生找到自信並感受到瑜珈的魅力。他們以身作則天天早起練習,漸漸的我也成為一個天天早起練習的學生(周日的羽毛球日除外)。到現在過了一年了,我非常確定這是我想要的瑜珈練習,並樂此不疲。

從 15 歲開始,我一直為了自體免疫系統的毛病 (psoriasis) 所苦,目前除了緩和的治療法外,沒有完全根治的方式。能提供最好的療法是:生活不能有壓力,要注意平常生活的保健。我是一個急性子,又愛要求完美的個性,生活要沒有壓力,實在很難。瑜珈幫我體驗到身體本來就是一個精準的自然平衡系統,但多數人太忙不習慣去觀察思考身體真正的需要,等到最後無法負荷時,自然就大病一場取得該有的平衡。瑜珈修身之外也強調修心,讓身體和腦袋取得自然平衡狀態。我很高興身體的情況改善了,心靈也進而開闊了些。

我感謝 Joanna 啟發了我對瑜珈的熱情。感謝 Sally教導我上下顛倒樂趣的絕竅,Russell 讓我次次體驗到後彎致命的吸引力,加上 Axl 和 Gladys 的細心指導,讓早上的練習充足又有趣。我知道當練習完身體有多麼的疲累,而老師們必須更早起完成練習後,冒著被"踢"被"打"的危險,協助學生調整動作。因此,我感謝所有老師,以及space 的每位工作同仁!

此文更要對所有mysore同學致上敬意,因為我知道從溫暖的被窩裡爬出來有多麼困難!

Keep practicing both on and off the mat through each doubt, fear, and skepticism, hopefully another me come.

Namaste!
每個月我們將從SPACE的學員當中選出一位對自己瑜珈的練習有非常熱愛並且投入的朋友,和我們分享他她的瑜珈故事。希望藉由他們的分享能鼓勵更多瑜珈愛好者對他們的瑜珈練習更持之以恆。
本月姿勢
每個月我們將挑選一個姿勢,仔細和大家一起探索這個姿勢的各種可能。

© SPACE Concepts All Rights Reserved.

最精緻的瑜珈教室,最專業的瑜珈課程,就在 SPACE YOGA